April 2, 2021

The Honorable Jerry Moran 521 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Kyrsten Sinema 317 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Moran and Senator Sinema,

On behalf of the organizations listed below, we write in strong support of the Advanced Air Mobility Coordination and Leadership Act (S.516) and applaud your leadership for this emerging sector. The legislation is intended to ensure critical federal government leadership and coordination in support of the emerging Advanced Air Mobility (AAM) sector.

The new and innovative AAM sector will use highly automated electric and vertical take-off and landing vehicles to facilitate new transportation options, create jobs and economic activity, advance environmental sustainability and new technologies, and support emergency preparedness and competitiveness. A recent study found that the market for AAM in the U.S. is estimated to reach \$115 billion annually by 2035 and is expected to benefit urban, suburban, and rural communities.

S. 516 will help ensure the federal government is effectively engaged and coordinated internally and with industry and other stakeholders to support the evolution of AAM. The bill authorizes the Secretary of Transportation to establish an interagency working group to plan for and coordinate efforts for the advancement of operating AAM aircraft in the U.S., including workforce opportunities, physical and digital security issues, and energy and transportation infrastructure. Notably, we expect the first FAA certification of these aircraft and initial operations to begin in 2023.

We believe S. 516 will help realize the enormous potential and broad societal benefits of this rapidly developing and transformative aviation sector. We applaud your leadership in introducing the Advanced Air Mobility Coordination and Leadership Act and look forward to working with you to advance this important sector.

Sincerely,

Sarah MacLeod Executive Director Aeronautical Repair Station Association

Mike Adamson President and Chief Executive Officer Aircraft Electronics Association

Todd Hauptli President and Chief Executive Officer American Association of Airport Executives

Yolanka Wulff Executive Director Community Air Mobility Initiative

James Viola President and Chief Executive Officer Helicopter Association International Eric Fanning President and Chief Executive Officer Aerospace Industries Association

Kevin M. Burke President and Chief Executive Officer Airports Council International – North America

Dan Dumbacher Executive Director American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Pete Bunce President and Chief Executive Officer General Aviation Manufacturers Association

Timothy R. Obitts President and Chief Executive Officer National Air Transportation Association Gregory Pecoraro President and Chief Executive Officer National Association of State Aviation Officials

Mike Hirschberg Executive Director Vertical Flight Society Ed Bolen President and Chief Executive Officer National Business Aviation Association